A.C. Newman – Get Guilty



Artist:  A.C. Newman
AlbumGet Guilty
File Under: Baroque Pop
Recommended if You Like: The New Pornographers, Elliott Smith, The Shins, Arcade Fire
Featured Track: Submarines of Stockholm

The New Pornographers melody maker, A.C. (Carl) Newman has released his second solo album, Get Guilty, on Matador Records and it’s one of the many great albums released in the past few weeks that has consistently bubbled to the top of my playlist day after day. The songs are beautifully produced, orchestral and lush without being overdone.  And his powerful pop lyrics are so catchy and charming you could almost liken him a modern day Elton John.  This is the kind of stuff that will get stuck in your head all day long.

But don’t let the ‘pop’ reference mislead you here, there is no shortage of craft and genius on this album. Just as with The New Pornographers, the parts of this production are as impressive as the sum.  With the aid of drummers Jon Wurster (Superchunk, Mountain Goats) and Charles Burst along with Nicole Atkins and Mates of State’s Kori Gardner lending some vocals, songs like “There Are Maybe Ten or Twelve” and “The Heartbreak Rides” are transformed into pure magic.

A.C. Newman plays The Independent in San Francisco February 28.

Get this album free via eMusic’s 50 Free MP3 Promo

buy it at insound!

Bookmark and Share

A Good Day

Today was a good day. Not only did we get a new president but today launched a landslide of hot, fresh, highly anticipated albums from the likes of:


A.C. Newman – Get Guilty

Featured Track: ‘Submarines of Stockholm’



Andrew Bird – Noble Beast (& Useless Creatures)

Featured Track: Oh No 


Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion

Featured Track: My Girls 


Bon Iver – Blood Bank EP

Featured Track: ‘Blood Bank’


J. Tillman – Vacilando Territory Blue

Featured Track: ‘James Blue’ 


Robert Pollard The Crawling Distance

Featured Track: ‘Imaginary Queen Anne’

Get this album free via eMusic’s 50 Free MP3 Promo

buy it at insound!

Bookmark and Share

In Anticipation: A.C. Newman – ‘Get Guilty’

The New Pornographer’s frontman, A.C. Newman, is releasing his second solo album January 20th on Matador Records, where you can pre-order the CD and save $3 .  The band recorded several tracks from his upcoming album Get Guilty at a studio in Brooklyn last Monday for Pitchfork.tv. Here’s the video for “Like A Hitman, Like A Dancer.”

Catch A.C. Newman performing at San Francisco’s NoisePop Festival February 28th at The Independent.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
more about “Like a Hitman, Like a Dancer | Pitchf…“, posted with vodpod

NoisePop 2009 Dates, Pre-Sale, Early Lineup Announced


The 17th annual NoisePop Festival has been set for February 24 – March 1, 2009. Early artist confirmations include New Pornographers front man AC Newman, No Age, Pinback side project Goblin Cock, Dear And The Headlights, the Bay Area debut of Clues and a very special performance by Antony and the Johnsons, kicking off a festival roster that will include over 100 bands.

Noise Pop Festival badges will be available to purchase starting at 10:00 AM on December 10, 2008. To buy badges, go to the Noise Pop 2009 website.

Listen to AC Newman, ‘Miracle Drug

Listen to Goblin Cock, Stumped