the OCMD Mixtape: Sayulita

the OCMD Mixtape: “Sayulita

A few days of that and you get this – my Sayulita Mixtape.  Yup, this suits my state of mind right now. Just add surf, sand and cerveza and hit play. Enjoy.

1. Washed Out – “Feel It All Around”
2. Here We Go Magic – “Tunnelvision”
3. Atlas Sound – “Quick Canal”
4. The Ruby Suns – “There Are Birds”
5. Radiohead – “These Are My Twisted Words”
6. LCD Soundsystem – “Someone Great”
7. Flaming Lips – “Sagittarius Silver Announcement”
8. Built To Spill – “Done”
9. The XX – “Shelter”
10. Speck Mountain – “Angela”
11. The Shortwave Set – “Harmonia”

Will There Be A Radiohead EP Released Today?


Radiohead, “These Are My Twisted Words”

The Internet is ablaze with theories about the leaked Radiohead track last week, “These Are My Twisted Words.” And one such theory that’s been speculated on a Radiohead fan site, At Ease, is that “Twisted Words” is from a new Radiohead EP called Wall of Ice that will hit the internet hard today. According to the site, in the source files of the the leaked track last week, the title ‘Wall Of Ice’ was found twice as well as a release date of August 17, 2009.

Why is everyone so optimistic about this theory?

  1. If you go to you get redirected to a Radiohead online store.
  2. In the recent Believer interview, Yorke alluded to having something up his sleeve by saying: “We’ve got this great idea for putting things out but I can’t tell you what it is, because someone will rip it off.”
  3. The ‘Wall of Ice’ reference of the supposed EP title is believed to originate from an anti-industry cartoon about digital rights management (pictured above).
  4. Capitol Records is slated to release deluxe reissues of Kid A, Amnesica and Hail to the Theif on August 25. The band had no input into this.

Given that Radiohead has vocally expressed disdain for the music industry and it’s inner workings on many occasion, this is all starting to sound like a very viable ‘fuck you’ to the system.  Whether it’s true or not, we will shall soon find out. Good god do I have respect for this band.  Not only are they musical geniuses, they’re marketing geniuses too.  And right now they have the entire world eating out of their hands.

Surprise! New Radiohead MP3 – “These Are My Twisted Words”


Radiohead, “These Are My Twisted Words”

Earlier this week the world was mourning the fact that Radiohead announced they were out of the LP album business and have no plans to release any.  Then today, a new MP3 suddenly appears on the Internet from the band, “These Are My Twisted Words”. If I didn’t know better, I’d say these cheeky bastards are toying with us. Whether this is contrived or coincidence, I’ll take it.

No New Radiohead Albums Anytime Soon


An extensive interview with Thom Yorke this month by The Believer revealed that the band has no imminent plans to release a full LP anytime soon. In fact, Yorke was quite candid with his feelings for the traditional album format and creative process, saying: “None of us want to go into that creative hoo-ha of a long-play record again. Not straight off. I mean, it’s just become a real drag. It worked with In Rainbows because we had a real fixed idea about where we were going. But we’ve all said that we can’t possibly dive into that again. It’ll kill us.”

Yorke also went on to discuss his thoughts on the CD and music industry stating, “I mean, I always hated CDs. Me and Stanley [Donwood] always hated CDs. Just a fucking nightmare. There’s a process of natural selection going on right now. The music business was waiting to die in its current form about twenty years ago. But then, hallelujah, the CD turned up and kept it going for a bit. But basically, it was dead.”

But fear not, the band intends to continue to make music, just on their own creative terms.  And only a band like Radiohead could help shape and define what that means. So in the meantime look for more EPs one off tracks, like last week’s release of “Harry Patch, In Memory Of”.

Radiohead Fans – Meet Shadows On A River

album art

Shadows On A River: “In Business”

It’s been a while since a band has wowed me and the Chicago-based group calling themselves Shadows on a River has done just that.  I haven’t stopped listening to their debut since it arrived in my mailbox (thanks Undertow!).  This is the best unsigned band I’ve heard so far this year.

Dark, brooding and experimental, their sound easily draws comparisons to the electronic rock genius of early Radiohead. Especially on tracks like “In Business” and “Ships Sailing Home”.  Singer/songwriter David Hensen’s ethereal and haunting melodies and intricate arrangements complete the effect.

But let me be clear, because making a Radiohead comparison may be sacrilege for some. I’m not saying they imitate them, but inspire a similar feeling you get from listening to them.  It’s “honest and transporting.”  The kind of album you want to put on to get lost in.  One that opens up and evolves with each and every listen.

So I say, bravo boys!  If this is what you can create from an apartment in Chicago, I can’t wait to hear what you can do in a studio.

Be sure to download Shadows On A River from iTunes.  Only $7.99 and you wont regret it.

Radiohead In Studio


Hey all you Radiohead disciples, BBC Music News reported that the band is in the studio working with famed producer Nigel Godrich on the follow up to their acclaimed “In Rainbows” release.  Good news! But before you get too excited, they have not yet confirmed an album release date, title or even if the music will be released in a similar ‘pay what you want’ format as “In Rainbows”. As bassist Colin Greenwood was quoted,”It’s at the stage where we’ve got the big Lego box out and we’ve tipped it out on the floor and we’re just looking at all the bits and thinking what’s next?”

What’s next indeed.  I’m sure we all can’t wait to find out.

Radiohead, “Paranoid Android”